Today was so good! Here are some pictures:

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

We had an interesting start to the day. I was woken up by two middle aged women I had never seen before in my life. Apparently every Monday morning they have jazzercise at 5:30 am. We weren’t notified of this.  Since they showed up at 5:15 we had 15 minutes to get all of our stuff out of the entire room! It wasn’t pretty, but we did it. At breakfast we had quite an entertaining time watching all four of the people who showed up use the entire church cafeteria. Four! We had to clear out entirely for four people! Sigh.

We left the church for Mobile, AL. The ride was flat and the weather was cool. Only a high of 86! We were halfway through the ride at 10:30! We did something that is rare for the 4k. We planned the ride to be 77 miles and we actually rode 76.9 miles! I couldn’t believe it! The internet is really crappy here so again I’m using my phone and again I can’t upload the GPS data. That’s two in a row! I promise to post the link as soon as I can. Edit: Here it is! http://connect.garmin.com/activity/527993606

The ride went really smoothly. We had to wait a while at the second water stop because of a shredded tire so naturally I napped on the pavement. Right when we started to leave it started raining. It rained for the next 17 miles. It was nice though because it kept us cool and it wasn’t pouring or thundering. I forgot my water bottle at the water stop so when the van caught up to me we executed a van-to-biker water bottle handoff at 18mph in the rain. It was pretty professional. We also rode through an orange clay road which made my tires temporarily match my handlebars!
image

The rain stopped after the third water stop where we had lunch. We had pizza, burgers, and tons of chicken! The food van did great today! We then rode into Mobile. We could’ve taken a tunnel that would’ve cut 10 miles off the ride, but we decided to be safe and rode the extra miles up and around and over a bridge with a really steep incline. Ugh. Not preferable. It was a good thing we decided to do this though because when we arrived at our host (relatively early I might add) the news was covering a story about how a tractor-trailer had crashed into the tunnel because it was too big to fit!

My ride group today did most excellently! (Shoutout to Bill and Ted! If you know who they are…) I rode with Jackie, Dana, Danny, and Haley. This is Dana:

image

She’s a really great rider and is always laughing and smiling! I’ve never seen her grumpy or upset! She also makes up some awful rounds of Would You Rather. Seriously. Be prepared. Whew!

I saw these awesome bumper stickers today on the streets of Mobile:

image

Luckily I was able to snap a pic at the red light. I thought it was important to share.

Our host tonight is a YMCA. Yay showers! When I went for my overdue shower there were these two kids in there and I told them about how we biked here from Florida. Then I went in (still in my bike shorts) and started washing off. I wasn’t paying attention but as soon as I took my shorts off I immediately heard muffled giggling from the same kids that hadn’t left yet. So that happened. I’m just going to assume they thought my tanlines were funny.

Then we went to the bike shop to buy some tubes. Thank you so much to everyone who has mailed some to us, but our need is more immediate than our next mail drop, so unfortunately we had to go buy some. The bike shop wouldn’t donate them. Boo.

When we got back, Brianne had gotten us a killer dinner from Olive Garden, Red Lobster, and Longhorn Steakhouse! We ate pasta, appetizers, and salad. In the kitchen of the YMCA hangs this sign:

image

Scott Johnson, this one’s for you!

After dinner we played Egyptian Rat Screw (a card game) and went to bed.

Tomorrow we enter Mississippi! It’s only supposed to be 60 miles. Comment on my posts in the meantime!

