Today was a short day, just 24 miles and we went fast! So fast I didn’t take a selfie while I was riding. Unfortunate. I know. Here’s the pictures I did take:

image

image

image

image

This morning we needed to be out of our host location by 9 am, but we couldn’t contact our host for tonight to see when we would be able to arrive until 10 am. So we’re killed an hour in a nearby park throwing a Frisbee and relaxing.

After that Jeremy, Aaron, and I went to go swim in a nearby river (pictured above). That was really nice and was a good chance to get our biking shorts a little cleaner.

When we got back to the park, most people had started riding and our group (Danny, Aaron, Jeremy, and Myself) left last. There were some weird directions to get us out of Richmond that took us on really unnecessary roads, so we skipped them and found our own way to route 1. Hence our team name: Team Hooky. We flew through the short ride. The four of us were rocketing down route 1.  Our shortcut put us ahead of all the groups but two, and we ended up arriving at the host first. It was really hot out and we had one water stop at about mile 14. Each of us had run completely out of water by the time we got there because it was so hot out. I think it is supposed to rain either tonight or tomorrow, so hopefully it will cool off. Nothing about the route itself was too notable, there wasn’t much to see and there weren’t any huge hills or anything. Boo.

We finished the ride in two hours flat (including water stops and stopping at lights and the top of hills). Our average moving speed was almost 16mph, which is pretty darn good for 24 miles in the heat. Here’s the link to all of the GPS stats: (http://connect.garmin.com/activity/513994355)

Our host today is the YMCA in Petersburg, VA. When we got here some of us got in the pool real quick and then I went on a 15 minute shake out run. My legs are really sore. After showering we had a grill-out and ate chicken, burgers, and salad. The people here are super nice and keep checking in on us to make sure we’re doing okay. I guess I haven’t taken any pictures of the places we’ve stayed, so here’s two I took just now:

image

image

Sorry for the blurry and thank you Jeremy for the gang signs.

One more thing, I’ve decided to do a cartwheel every day after I finish riding. Mainly because I’m pretty good at cartwheels!

Make sure to comment, message, or text! The team and I love hearing your support and encouragement!

